Art, Crafting, House life, Uncategorized

More changes and fixes to the house

Got home Friday night and really didn’t feel like sitting around.

I was up until around 11 pm cleaning several rooms because I didn’t feel like being out in the heat anymore for the day.

Saturday morning I was up and on it pretty early. During the week I’d been poking at building a new screen for another window and went after it right away so I could get more airflow through the house. New screen 2

I still need to finish some of the paint work and re-glaze the windows, but getting these open for more airflow really made a difference throughout the day. I’ve been salvaging what sparse scrap I can for these projects and hand build the stuff along the way.

 

Somewhere after this I stopped for breakfast. No rel big affair but I happened to look out the window and saw this bunch passing through. Three hen Turkeys and maybe two dozen giblets on the move. Apparently the ones around here are supposed to be pretty good eating, too.

 

This is just one of the groups immediately around. There were three or four Toms and more than a dozen hens in the group that hangs out here.

 

After breakfast I decided it was time to move the Fridge. I needed to cut back the counter several inches, but moving the fridge here opens up moving the stove and adding a little side cabinet for it, and opens up a whole area for adding a cabinet or work area.

I thought I had a before pic of where the fridge was at, but if I did I can’t find it. It definitely fits better in it’s new spot and eventually the stove will go in it’s old corner.

I kinda thought the all white was drab and boring. I plan on turning this window into the spice rack since it doesn’t lead directly outside. Being able to open it (in progress) will help on hot days while cooking, too. Of course I’ll have to get a proper hood and vent in for it as well.

I also got a bunch of little stuff done. Some work on the little truck, mostly robing parts fro the old to replace odds and end on the new little truck. Picked up some sketch pads to start working on a project as well. Worked on repairing a small stool for a friend of mine as well. A few more steps on it and it should be sturdy enough to use.

And as always, got some more work done up the hill, too. Pretty well finished the wall to where I want it. I still need a few odd rocks in places, but for the most part it’s done. Fill dirt and grass is next. There is pretty close to forty feet of low wall here. I also ran some string lines for grade marking so I can get it near level.

Well, Until next time . .  I’ll see what I can get into between now and then . . .

Leave a comment